top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecsauneyy

doctors.

Updated: May 1, 2020

one thing I really want to note here - the doctors I have worked with have been beyond phenomenal. From my family doctor, to my OBGYN, to my initial oncologist and my now current oncologist - they have all been AMAZING. And know what's the best part? They're all women. Young, strong, powerful, kind, compassionate WOMEN.



Dr. D - My family doctor has been so incredible through this all. From the initial abnormal pap to current day (and I know beyond) she has been consistently in touch with me via phone and text - making sure I'm okay, making sure I know she's there for whatever I need, checking in, sending researched articles to help us be informed. We were SO lucky to find here over 4 years ago to become our new family doctor and she's been beyond wonderful since then.


Dr. B - My OBGYN that took over my care when the cancer was found has also been SO great. She was being told by a flight attendant to get off her phone as her plane was taxiing the tarmac when she was speaking to my family doctor about my diagnosis - she was heading on a family vacation and wanted to make sure I got my results ASAP and the process to get me into see an oncologist and get moving could happen in a quick manner while she was away. She's connected me to appropriate resources, checking in with me throughout the weeks to see if I need anything or she can help in any way. The thing that struck me most was when we were between putting chemo on hold and going to get a second opinion - she called me to let me know that we have her full support no matter what decision we make. She said "Whatever decision you make, is the right decision" and I've had to be reminded of that a couple of times when the 'what if's' start to hit me.


Dr. R - My first oncologist at Juravinski was caring and compassionate from the beginning. She knew I was scared and was so understanding of being delicate with what she was providing us. Something that blew me away was about 5 days after I spoke to her nurse to let her know we were going an alternate route in terms of treatment was that she called me. She called me to let me know she was fully supportive of us going in an alternate direction and that her and her team were still cheering me on throughout all of this and that they were there for me if I needed anything. Additionally, she offered to provide my follow up care if we wanted (as I will have lots of follow up over the years) so we don't have to drive all the way out to Sunnybrook each time.


Dr. K - My now current oncologist I've only met with once at this time. She was friendly, knowledgeable and straight to the point - which is what I needed. As much as I think I need my hand to be held through all of this, it makes me too hesitant in terms of decisions. I need the straight forward, blunt options/advice from educated professionals. She's made me feel completely confident in our decision and is beyond educated and experienced in this very unique field.


371 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

updates; almost a year later.

well if you don't follow me on social media you've certainly been left hanging. the last almost year I haven't written anything in terms of updates on life here. so here's a look at the last 11 months

update.

bottom of page